Oklahoma Arts Council names Epperley 2013 Governor’s Award recipient

Photo of Barry Epperley

The Oklahoma Arts Council recently announced that Dr. Barry Epperley, Artistic Director & Conductor of Signature Symphony at TCC, is one of two recipients of the 2013 Governor’s Award. Epperley will be honored for his contribution to Oklahoma's arts and cultural industry during the 38th annual Governor's Arts Awards in November.

“Barry Epperley has been a driving force for music education and musical talent for nearly four decades,” said TCC President Tom McKeon. “In addition to providing Tulsa with outstanding arts and entertainment, under his leadership the Higher Scale Music Outreach Program provides free music lessons to over 400 public school students each year—and the majority of these schools are in underserved communities.”

Epperley founded the Tulsa Little Symphony in 1978, which changed its name to Oklahoma Sinfonia, and in 1996 became the orchestra-in-residence at TCC. The VanTrease Performing Arts Center for Education became the home for the Sinfonia under the name Signature Symphony at TCC. The professional orchestra has been under his baton for the past 35 years. Epperley’s vision has been to integrate artistic excellence, heightened arts appreciation, and music education in Oklahoma for all ages.

The Governor’s Award recognizes individuals for longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts across Oklahoma and is selected from submitted nominations by members of the Governor's Arts Awards Selection Committee.  Past Governor’s Arts Awards recipients include Marcello Angelini, Howard and Billie Barnett, Margery Mayo Bird, Walter and Peggy Helmerich, Roman Jasinski, Moscelyne Larkin, Si and Rita Levit and Mollie Williford.

Epperley will be presented the 2013 Governor’s Award by Gov. Mary Fallin during a special ceremony at the Oklahoma State Capitol on Wednesday, Nov. 13.  The ceremony will begin at 4 p.m. in the fourth floor rotunda. A reception on the Capitol's first floor will follow. The event is free and open to the public.