Technical Standards/Essential Functions


The Respiratory Care Program at Tulsa Community College is dedicated to providing quality graduate advanced respiratory therapists who meet national standards, while serving the needs of the Tulsa metropolitan community. As part of that commitment, the Respiratory Care Program must meet technical standards of performance, not only for CoARC, the accreditation committee for Respiratory Care, but for state and federal requirements that preserve the rights of individuals with disabilities. There are eight ADA Technical Standard Categories in which applicants must be able to perform and provide quality respiratory care. These categories are:

1. Gross Motor Skills
2. Fine Motor Skills
3. Physical Endurance
4. Physical Strength
5. Mobility
6. Hearing
7. Visual
8. Tactile

By completing the application for Respiratory Care, you verify that you can preform all of these functions, with and without reasonable accommodations.

Respiratory Care Essential Functions 2015.pdf154.84 KB