2017 Vision Dinner Honoring Alison Anthony Sets Fundraising Record

September 20, 2017
The 2017 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner set a new fundraising record as the evening honored Alison Anthony, the newly named chief operating officer of the Tulsa Area United Way. In addition to honoring Anthony, the event also marked the 10th anniversary of Tulsa Achieves, a program that served as a nationwide model for public higher education.

Presented by the Tulsa Community College Foundation, the Vision Dinner raised more than $370,000, the most successful in its 18-year history. The 2017 Vision Honorary co-chairs are Michael and Libby Johnson. Jim Langdon and Steve Turnbo served as the Dinner Committee Co-Chairs. This year’s dinner also marked another first with six $25,000 Visionary sponsors. The Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation issued a corporate sponsor challenge and that challenge was matched by the George Kaiser Family Foundation, ONE Gas, ONEOK and TTCU Federal Credit Union, and Williams.

“We are a stronger, more successful community because of Alison Anthony’s unwavering support of education and her contributions to diversity and inclusion,” TCC President & CEO Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D. said. “She believes passionately that everyone deserves the same opportunity. Not only does she believe this, but she speaks it and consistently puts it into practice.”

The evening also showcased the success of Tulsa Achieves and highlighted how it has shaped our community. Created in 2007, Tulsa Achieves is a gap funded program that has assisted 17,722 students in attending college and covers tuition and fees after federal student aid is exhausted.

“As a first generation college graduate, this program served as a financial blessing at the right time. I was conflicted about college and questioned if it was a good fit for me. TCC and Tulsa Achieves gave me hope and the tools I needed to survive the "college world",” said Keondra Doyle Hampton, a Tulsa Achieves student who spoke during the Vision dinner. Since being part of the first Tulsa Achieves class, she has earned three degrees and is currently applying to pursue a Ph.D.

Funds raised from the TCC Foundation Vision Dinner provide TCC students with scholarships, leadership development opportunities, engagement and mentoring with academic scholars and leaders, and technology and equipment necessary to prepare for today’s work force. The TCC Foundation 2017 Board Chair is Alana R. Hughes, Chief Operating Officer, Charles & Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation.

Visionary sponsors are the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, TTCU Federal Credit Union, George Kaiser Family Foundation, ONE Gas, ONEOK and Williams for the 2017 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner.

Robin F. Ballenger, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, Cherokee Nation Businesses, Cox Communications, the Michael and Elizabeth Johnson Family Foundation, SemGroup Corporation, and the Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation are Leadership sponsors.

Excellence sponsors are Bank of Oklahoma, Nabholz Corporation, QuikTrip, Stinnett & Associates, Public Service Company of Oklahoma, The Oxley Foundation, Premier Consulting Partners &

Premier Capital Partners, Langdon Publishing / Henry Primeaux, III, Magellan Midstream Partners, Schnake Turnbo Frank, Price Family Properties / Jackie Price and Nicole Price, TCC Faculty Association, and TCC President’s Cabinet.

OSU Center for Health Sciences, KKT Architects, Bank of America, Barnett Family Foundation, The University of Tulsa, Paul Samuels / Morgan Stanley, Eller & Detrich, P.C. / Janet and Jim Cameron, Omni Air International, Helmerich & Payne, Inc., and Bama Companies are Achievement sponsors.

Dedication sponsors are Webco Industries, Inc., Chase, Crossland Construction Company, Davis Affiliates, LLC, GH2 Architects, LLC, Montie and Betty Box, Leigh and Mark Goodson, Mariner Wealth Advisors, Rogers State University Foundation, Central National Bank Wealth Management – Larry W. McCorkell, Sam & Rita Combs Charitable Fund, RVA LLC Market Research, LUXA Enterprises, Kate Thomas, Ron and Sue Looney, Wallace Engineering, Nancy and Joe McDonald, Dr. Dean and Vesta VanTrease, Dr. Frank and Mary Shaw, Sharon King Davis, Larry C. and Dr. Eleanor C. Payne, and Johnson Controls.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. The 2017 TCC Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner committee members are Carlin Conner, Andy Kinslow, Mina Lotti, Henry Primeaux III, Roger Ramseyer and Paul Samuels.

Past honorees include Keith Ballard, David Boren, Montie Box, U.S. Representative Tom Cole, Susan Harris, former Governor Brad Henry, Jake Henry Jr., George Kaiser, Paula Marshall, Lynn and Stacy Schusterman, Don Walker, and John-Kelly C. Warren.