2019 Vision Dinner Reaches Historic Goal

September 23, 2019
The 2019 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner hit a historic goal, raising $405,325 for the Tulsa Community College Foundation at the annual event on Thursday, Sept. 19. Visionary sponsors, the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, Cox Communications, ONEOK, TTCU Federal Credit Union and an anonymous donor, helped to make this the single largest Vision Dinner in its 19-year history.

Tulsa County Commissioner Karen Keith was presented with the 2019 Vision in Education Leadership Award for her work as a public servant to move our community forward and commitment to improve the lives of Oklahomans. Roger Ramseyer served as the 2019 Foundation Vision Dinner Chair. John and Lesa Smaligo served as the 2019 Vision Dinner Honorary Co-Chairs.

“Karen Keith is able to build consensus to create real and meaningful change,” said TCC President & CEO Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D. “She is passionate and sincere whether advocating for levee funding, championing the creation of a new Family Center for Juvenile Justice which opens next month, or serving on the Future of Higher Education statewide task force.”

As a Tulsa County Commissioner, she has served the people of District 2 since November 2008. She served on the board and was the 100th president of the Rotary Club of Tulsa, where she is a Paul Harris Fellow. Karen also serves on the Oklahoma Historical Society board of directors. She is a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class XX, the Oklahoma Academy, and the chamber of commerce in Tulsa, Jenks, Sand Springs and Southwest Tulsa.

Funds raised from the annual Vision Dinner support students by providing funds for scholarships, leadership development and mentoring opportunities, technology and equipment necessary to prepare today’s work force.

“The TCC Foundation was founded in 1970, the same time as the College, and has a long tradition of providing financial resources to support the College’s mission of building success through education,” said Kari Shults, Interim Vice President of Advancement and TCC Foundation President. “We are able to do this work because of the strong support we receive from the community and individual donors who help us create a better community one person and degree at a time.”

In addition to the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, Cox Communications, ONEOK, TTCU Federal Credit Union and an anonymous donor as Visionary sponsors, AAON, The Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation, ARVEST Foundation, Cherokee Nation Businesses, George Kaiser Family Foundation, ONE Gas, Price Family Properties, Robin Flint Ballenger, Ruth K. Nelson, Williams are Leadership sponsors.

Bank of Oklahoma, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, Hillcrest HealthCare System, Jim Norton Toyota & Jim Norton Chevrolet, OSU-Tulsa / OSU / OSU Foundation, QuikTrip, Schnake Turnbo Frank, The Oxley Foundation, and Tulsa World Media Group are Excellence sponsors. Achievement sponsors are Anchor Stone Co., Helmerich & Payne, Inc., JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A., Langdon Publishing / Jane and Henry Primeaux, River Spirit Casino Resort, Sam and Rita Combs, Sarah and John Graves, Shiela and Ted Haynes, Stinnett & Associates, TCC President’s Cabinet, and Tulsa Regional Chamber.

Dedication sponsors are American Waste Control; Bank of America; Barnett Family Foundation; Bill Knight; Cancer Treatment Centers of America; Clifford Power; Commerce Bank; Crossland Construction Company; Dean and Vesta VanTrease; Dewberry; First Oklahoma Bank; Flintco LLC.; Forrest Cameron, GTR Media Group; Jeff and Jessica Brooks; K S Adams Foundation; Mr. Larry C. and Dr. Eleanor C. Payne; Leigh and Mark Goodson; Lesa and John Smaligo; Marge and John Gaberino; Matrix Service Company; Meshri Family; Osage Casino; Paul and Tabitha Cornell / Premier Solution Partners; Public Service Company of Oklahoma; Regent Bank; Rick and Susan Neal; Rogers State University Foundation; Sharon King Davis; Stacey and Tom McKeon; The Bama Companies; Webco Industries, Inc.; William Lobeck & The Hon. Kathy Taylor; Workspace Resource, Inc.; and York Electronic Systems, Inc.

The 2019 TCC Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner committee members are Scott Asbjornson, Jeff Brooks, Kevin Gross, Jennifer Jezek, Jackie Price Johannsen, and Sean Kouplen.

Past honorees include Alison Anthony; Dr. Keith Ballard; David Boren; Montie Box; Congressman Tom Cole; Early Childhood Education Advocates: Pete Churchwell, Bill Doenges, Leonard Eaton, Martin Fate, Ted Fisher, George Kaiser, Robert LaFortune, Nancy McDonald, Ron Peters; John Gaberino, Jr.; Dr. Jim and Ann Halligan; Susan Harris; former Governor Brad Henry; Jake Henry Jr.; Michael Johnson; Ron King; Ken Lackey; Dr. Paula Marshall; David Page; Lynn and Stacy Schusterman; Don Walker; and John-Kelly Warren.