TCC Foundation Announces Don Walker as 2013 Vision Honoree

August 6, 2013

The Tulsa Community College Foundation will honor Donald E. Walker for his outstanding contributions to the greater Tulsa area through his community involvement at the 2013 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2013 at the Cox Business Center (formerly Tulsa Convention Center).

Vision is certainly part of Don Walker’s history and service to the community as a member of the leadership team for Vision 2025, co-chair for Vision 2, and current President and CEO of Arvest Bank, Tulsa. He has served on the boards of the Tulsa Regional Chamber of Commerce, Oklahoma Business Roundtable Board, Indian Nations Council – Boy Scouts of America, River Parks Authority, Morningcrest Charitable Foundation, Land Legacy – Oklahoma Land Trust and the Tulsa Community College Foundation. In addition, Walker served as chairman of the Tulsa Regional Chamber, Oklahoma Business Roundtable, River Parks Authority and Indian Nations Council – Boy Scouts of America. He also was Tulsa co-chair for the 2007 Oklahoma Centennial Celebration.

“Don Walker has an extensive list of achievements in making the Tulsa area a better place to live and work,” said Tulsa Community College President Tom McKeon. “Don’s leadership is quiet, selfless, and effective. He is one of our most distinguished community and state leaders and has been a tireless advocate for our community and for education in his various roles.”

The Walton Family Foundation is a Presenting Sponsor for the 2013 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner. Cox Business; ONEOK; and the Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation are Leadership Sponsors.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. Past honorees include Keith Ballard, David Boren, Montie Box, former Governor Brad Henry, John-Kelly Warren, George Kaiser, Paula Marshall and Lynn and Stacy Schusterman.

At the Vision Dinner, TCC will also posthumously award Nathaniel S. (Nate) Waters the TCC Stephen J. Jatras Award. Waters was a TCC graduate who went on to become an advocate for the physically challenged. After he unexpectedly passed away this spring, his friends in Tulsa gave generously to name the new Physical Therapy Clinic at TCC for Nate.

The 2013 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner is Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2013 at the Cox Business Center (formerly Tulsa Convention Center) with a 6 p.m. reception and 7 p.m. dinner and program. Dress is business attire. Sharon King Davis is Vision Honorary Chair and Tiffani Bruton is Vision Committee Chair. Mary Shaw is Tulsa Community College Foundation Chair.

Table hosts for the Vision Dinner are Howard and Billie Barnett; Tiffani and Trent Bruton; Becky and Jack Frank; Susan and Rick Neal; Pierce and Debbie Norton; Dr. Frank and Mary Shaw; and Tom and D’Anna Vogt.

Excellence Sponsors for the evening are Bank of Oklahoma; Barnett Family Foundation; Cancer Treatment Centers of America; George Kaiser Family Foundation; Jones Gotcher; Oxley Foundation; Schnake Turnbo Frank; Senior Star Living; Dr. B. Frank & Mary Shaw; TTCU The Credit Union; Williams; and the University of Tulsa. Anchor Stone; BancFirst; Mike and Pat Case; Conner Winters; Crafton Tull; Sharon King Davis; Eller Detrich; Flintco; Helmerich & Payne; Langdon Publishing; Tom & Stacey McKeon; Nadel and Gussman Energy; OSU-Tulsa; Jane and Henry Primeaux; Maxine and Jack Zarrow Family Foundation are Achievement Sponsors. Individual Sponsors are American Fidelity Assurance Company; Montie and Betty Box; Bryan Close; Phill and Fonda Cooper; Ruth Ann Fate; McFarland Architects; Marina Metevelis; Evelyn Neinhuis; RVA Market Research and Consulting; Selser Schaefer Architects; Dean and Vesta VanTrease; and Mollie Williford.

Funds raised by the Vision Dinner will support scholarships and special programs for students and faculty. Thanks to generous donations, the TCC Foundation gives more than $1 million annually to programs and scholarships to support students, faculty and staff.

Sponsorship levels for the dinner range from $2,500 to $20,000. Individual tickets are $200. For more information on the 2013 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner, please contact Jenna Grant at (918) 595-7836 or go to