TCC Vision Dinner Sets New Fundraising Record

October 3, 2014

The Tulsa Community College Foundation set a new fundraising record with the 2014 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner by raising more than $300,000 for the TCC Foundation.

Jake Henry Jr. received the Vision in Education Leadership Award Sept. 30 that was presented at the Renaissance Hotel.

PHOTO: Larry Mocha, TCC Foundation Chair; Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D., President and CEO of TCC; Jake Henry Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer of Saint Francis Health System; Konnie Boulter, 2014 Vision Dinner Committee Chair; and John-Kelly Warren, 2014 Honorary Chair.

Henry is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Saint Francis Health System, and he has served in this capacity since 2002. He was named the 2014 recipient because of his contributions and commitment to education. Henry’s deep interest in education began early, even before his life’s work led him to Tulsa. In fact, his post-graduate work was in higher education administration. As he noted in his Tulsa Regional Chamber inaugural address, he feels “leadership begins in the classroom, not in the boardroom.”

“Time and again, Jake Henry has invested financially in TCC’s academic programs and our teaching equipment and committed his staff and expertise to the creation of our curriculum and clinical experiences,” said TCC President & CEO Leigh B. Goodson, Ph.D. “Jake’s commitment to our health programs and the outcomes of our students is remarkable. His support has helped propel TCC to the top and we currently rank 10th in the nation for the number of graduates in our health profession degree programs by any single community college.”

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. Past honorees include Keith Ballard, David Boren, Montie Box, former Governor Brad Henry, John-Kelly Warren, George Kaiser, Paula Marshall, Lynn and Stacy Schusterman, and Don Walker. Funds raised by the Vision Dinner will support scholarships and special programs for students and faculty. Thanks to generous donations, the TCC Foundation gives more than $1 million annually to programs and scholarships to support students, faculty and staff.

John-Kelly Warren served as the Vision Honorary Chair and Konnie Boulter was the Dinner Committee Chair for the 2014 Tulsa Community College Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner. Committee members included Aaron Massey, Alana Hughes, Jim Langdon, Lauren Landwerlin, Lisette Coston, Phil Lakin, Jr., Steve Turnbo, Susan Harris, and Teresa Burkett. Larry Mocha is the TCC Foundation Board Chair.

The Oxley Foundation and The William K. Warren Foundation were Visionary sponsors for the 2014 Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner.

Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation; Mike & Cathey Barkley; Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation; J.A. Mathis Company; Saint Francis Health System; and Sorin Group were Leadership Sponsors.

Excellence sponsors for the evening were Acrobatant; ARC-Meshri Family; Bank of America; Konnie and Brian Boulter; Mike D. Case; Community Care; Cowen Construction; Cox Communications; Hall Estill; George Kaiser Family Foundation; Jones Gotcher; Joshi Technologies International; Omni Air International, Inc.; ONE Gas; ONEOK; Public Service Company of Oklahoma; SageNet; Schnake Turnbo Frank; TTCU The Credit Union; and The University of Tulsa.

Adams Hall Wealth Advisors, LLC; American Bank & Trust Co.; ARVEST Bank; Robin Ballenger; Bank of Oklahoma; Black Box; BlueCross BlueShield of Oklahoma; Citizens State Bank/ Rupe Building Company; Conner & Winters, LLP; Crossland Construction; Cameron Glass/Eller & Detrich; Epic; Flintco, LLC; Great Plains Coca-Cola; Helmerich & Payne, Inc.; Jackie Cooper Imports of Tulsa, LLC; Langdon Publishing; Maxine & Jack Zarrow Family Foundation; Nadel & Gussman Energy, LLC; Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences; PFS; Jane and Henry Primeaux; Tom Snyder/Anchor Stone Co; Southwest Medical; TCC Faculty Association; TCC President’s Cabinet; and University of Oklahoma were Achievement sponsors.

Dedication sponsors included The Albert & Hete Barthelmes Foundation, Inc.; American Fidelity Assurance Co; BancFirst; Barnett Family Foundation; Montie & Betty Box; Teresa & Robert Burkett; Phill & Fonda Cooper; Barry & Karen Davis; Sharon King Davis; Dr. Peggy Dyer; EMC; FlorWright, Inc.; Marge & John Gaberino Jr.; Martin & Karen Garber; Leigh & Mark Goodson; Hardesty Family Foundation; Hille Foundation; Drs. Bill and Barbara McEntee; Dr. Joe and Nancy McDonald; Tom & Stacey McKeon; MidFirst Bank; Nihon Kohden America, Inc.; OK2Grow; Osteopathic Founders Foundation; RVA Market Research/Consulting; Rogers State University; Selser Schaefer Architects; Dr. Frank & Mary Shaw; Skyline Art; US Foods; and Mollie B. Williford.