TCC Hosts 2023 OACC 56th Annual and Support Staff Conference

TCC Northeast Campus

Tulsa Community College hosted the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges 56th Annual and Support Staff Conference in early October with faculty, support staff, and professional staff from 12 member institutions in attendance.

The professional development conference was held at the TCC Northeast Campus on Oct. 6, 2023, with the theme “Come together to inspire”. The OACC is comprised of a dozen Oklahoma two-year college systems that work with employers to develop training solutions to meet current and future workforce needs.

Sean Alexander, former principal director of Microsoft AI, spoke at the conference about AI fluency in the workforce. Breakout sessions included topics about faculty, student services and support, workforce development best practices, administration and leadership, health and wellness, and nursing.

“This is an opportunity to get our community of learning professionals together, to participate in the dynamic exchange of ideas, and celebrate success in the classroom,” said OACC Executive Director Gary Davidson ahead of the conference. “The biggest issue in higher education this year is artificial intelligence and determining the best way to use it. We are delighted to have Sean Alexander with us to share his expertise in the advancements of AI technologies and its impact on workforce readiness.”

This year’s Great Ideas For Teaching (GIFT) Award winners are Tracey Hickman from Murray State College and LiErin Probasco from Oklahoma City Community College. The Creative Staff Innovation (CSI) Award first place winners are Candace Raney, Hannah Truitt, Lucas Hedgecock, Jacob Sitton, and Tracie Teague from Eastern Oklahoma State College; second place winners are Tsugi Coleman, Donita Graves, Wayne Traywicks, Janis Cantrell, Monica Carlisle, Elizabeth Eustice, Brittney Meeks, Stephanie Conner, Rochelle Mosby, and Ali Ashworth from Oklahoma City Community College; and the third place winner is Dr. Jennifer Woolston from Oklahoma City Community College. The 2023 OACC Hall of Fame inductees are Joy McDaniel and Dr. Paul Sechrist.

“TCC is proud to host this year’s conference that recognizes the vital work of OACC faculty and staff to develop innovative methods of education that help our students thrive and be successful,” said TCC President Leigh Goodson. “Workshops like these provide opportunities for collaboration and improvement to meet the needs of our students across the state.”

The OACC conference was sponsored this year by BibliU, Ellucian, GH2 Architects LLC,  Husch Blackwell, The Princeton Review &, Advanced Technologies Consultants, Inc., Chickasaw Nation, Elsevier, Employees Group Insurance Division/HealthChoice, Great Western Dining Service, Horizon Financial Services, ImageNet Consulting, OneNet, University Loft Company, Allied Universal Security Services, CourseLeaf, Entegrity Energy Partners, Fresh Filtered Air, Inc., NISOD UT Austin, Oklahoma Correctional Industries, Sodexo, Southern New Hampshire University, Tinker Federal Credit Union, and Western Governors University.