Faculty Development Program Resources

Faculty Development Program Guiding Principles


Alignment:

We worked to align program components with the Faculty Development Competencies. The majority of professional development opportunities intentionally reinforce that alignment; a few reinforce multiple competencies.

High-Impact Strategies:

We gave priority to development opportunities that included a focus on high-impact institutional and pedagogical best practices such as service-learning, learner-centered teaching, backwards (integrated) course design, team-based learning, collaborative assignments and projects, diversity/global learning, writing intensive courses, undergraduate research, student learning communities, and study abroad. See the AAC&U’s High Impact Practices as well as Dee Fink’s Five High Impact Practices for more information.

Accessibility:

We worked to offer professional development opportunities in series- or course formats (and, where possible, to make them available during the day and in the evening), in order to maximize accessibility.

Community and Collaboration:

Through series and course formats, we hope to encourage collaboration and community-building between all faculty, who may work in online cohorts, or be together across two- or three class/workshop sessions. Some program components (e.g., “Observe Your Peers” [2017] and “Mentoring” [2018]) were created specifically to help build community between and among full-time and adjunct faculty members.

Inclusiveness:

We are working to involve full-time and adjunct faculty members in all components of professional development. Beyond participation in and assessment of those activities, we are working to create opportunities for faculty to serve on Engaged Learning division planning committees and advisory groups, and when possible, to work as professional development co-facilitators.


Expectations Statement

Ongoing and pertinent professional development is part of the TCC faculty job description, and as such, faculty members are expected to make time for professional development opportunities, whether that means participating in an Engaged Learning workshop or course at the College, working to attain an advanced degree in one’s field, engagement in an active research agenda, attending or presenting at local or regional workshops/conferences related to one’s discipline, or through disciplinary association work (or some combination thereof).

Compensation Statement

While the College values multiple forms of professional development, we are only able to tie financial compensation to some of them. When possible, offerings sponsored by the Engaged Learning division which exemplify the guiding principles above, and which entail an extended commitment across time, will be compensated. Additionally, small financial awards may occasionally be available.

Engaged Learning Division Support Information

The Engaged Learning Division office is located at:

Tulsa Community College
West Campus, L-244
7505 West 41st Street South
Tulsa, OK 74107
(918) 595-8045
engagedlearning@tulsacc.edu


West Campus Support

Cindy Shanks
Dean
cindy.shanks@tulsacc.edu

Melissa Teachnor
Administrative Assistant III
melissa.teachnor@tulsacc.edu


Metro Campus Support

Lynn Richmond
Honors Specialist
Metro Campus, Honors Office, MC 523C
lynn.richmond@tulsacc.edu


Southeast Campus Support

Mary Steinsiek
Administrative Assistant (PT), College Success Program
Southeast Campus, Bldg. 3, 3207
mary.steinsiek@tulsacc.edu


Northeast Campus Support

Douglas Price, Ed.D.
Director, Global Learning
(918) 595-7853
douglas.price@tulsacc.edu

Our Coordinators

College Success Program
Lori Coggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor/Coordinator of College Success
(918) 595-7391
lori.coggins@tulsacc.edu

Faculty Development Program

Faculty Development and Instructional Design Team
Lynnda Brown
Associate Professor/Instructional Designer
lynnda.brown@tulsacc.edu

Jennifer Campbell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor/Instructional Designer
jennifer.campbell@tulsacc.edu

Lee Anne Morris
Associate Professor/Instructional Designer
lee.anne.morris@tulsacc.edu

Academy for Teaching Excellence Team
Penny Stack, OTD, OTR/L, CLT
Interim AFWC/Assistant Professor
Program Director
ATE Co-Coordinator (918) 595-8596
penny.stack@tulsacc.edu

Co-Coordinator TBD

Global Learning Program
Douglas Price, Ed.D.
Director, Global Learning
(918) 595-7853
douglas.price@tulsacc.edu

Honors Program
Allen Culpepper, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, English
TCC Honors Program Coordinator
(918) 595-7647
honors@tulsacc.edu

Service-Learning Program
Kristen Marangoni, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English
TCC Service-Learning Program Coordinator
(918) 595-7077
kristen.marangoni@tulsacc.edu

Auggie Valadez
Volunteer Coordinator
(918) 595-8047
auggie.valadez@tulsacc.edu

Undergraduate Research Program
Diana Spencer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biotechnology
George Kaiser Family Foundation Endowed Chair of Research
Community College Undergraduate Research Initiative co-PI
Oklahoma INBRE Community College Outreach Coordinator
(918) 595-8605
diana.spencer@tulsacc.edu